Original Dog Portraits

dog portraitsWhile visiting an art forum I was surprised or rather should I say stunned to learn that some portrait artists trace the photo for the portrait they will be painting, and it seems to be quite acceptable practice to do so. That is something that I would not feel comfortable doing, when someone commissions  original art I’m assuming that they expect the whole painting to be made from observation including the sketch used as the basis for the finished art.

When I do an original pet portrait I make the sketch on tracing paper by observing the photo, sometimes if the sketch is too small for what I want, I scan it into the computer, enlarge it and trace the printout of my enlarged sketch but I don’t and never have traced a photo for an original portrait commission.

So you can be sure when you commission original portrait from me you are getting  genuine original art.

Find out more about my original pet portraits by visiting my website

Leave a Reply

