Acrylic Cat Portrait

contemporary cat portraitsWhile browsing an art supply website I came across paper made specifically for acrylic so I thought I’d give it a try. It’s the same brand that I use for my watercolors, Strathmore 400 series. The cover on the paper pad says that it has a linen finish, don’t know what that means but it sounded good so I eagerly got down to work with this cat portrait.

I wasn’t sure if the paper would buckle when wet but I took a chance and didn’t tape it down. Went well, no buckling but the paper does curl up a bit after it dries. No big deal, when put under a mat it flattens out. I like the texture of the paper, a bit like canvas except smoother. Oh, it just dawned on me what was meant when it said “linen finish”, they were referring to the paper’s texture, it resembles linen. Silly me, I thought maybe the paper was coated with linen, ha, ha.

I wonder if this paper is suitable for pen and ink, only one way to find out so it’s back to the drawing board.

One thought on “Acrylic Cat Portrait

  1. Pingback: Framed Cat Portrait « Pet Portraits

Comments are closed.