Small Pet Portraits On Mat Board

Gordon Setter portrait

I have some scraps of  mat board and I was curious how an acrylic pet portrait would look painted on it. The paint goes on  much differently than on canvas. With canvas I like to put the paint on thick and heavy, but that just doesn’t work with the mat board, it’s more suitable for thinner acrylic painted in layers or as a transparent wash.

It’s not that visible here but the mat is an ivory color. I have a few more mat scraps left, if anyone wants one made of their pooch or kitty I’ll make the portrait for only $25 shipping included. The mat scraps are approx. 5×7 inches that can be framed unmatted in a 5×7 inch frame (you might need to trim it a bit to fit) or they can be matted in an 8×10 inch mat and put in an 8×10 inch frame.  No deposit needed, I’ll show you the finished portrait, if you like it you can buy it, if you don’t like it you don’t buy it. Interested? Let me know.  Be sure to tell me you are interested in the portraits painted on mat board so as not to get confused with the other types of pet portraits I make.

Leave a Reply

